History of the Department

The Department of Geology of MOUAU started in 2015/2016 academic session. It was the 6th Department in College of Physical and Applied Sciences (COLPAS), MOUAU after the establishment of five (5) other Departments in the college.

Geology at MOUAU started with fifteen (15) academic staff (3 professors, 2 senior lecturers, 1 lecturer I, 1 lecturer II, 6 assistant lecturers and 2 graduate assistants); 3 academic technologists and 3 administrative staff. The first students admitted into the Department of Geology were 78 in number and the pioneer HOD was Prof. M.N. Nnabuchi.


The mission of Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike, Nigeria is to provide high quality, practical training to students to become professionally competent and confident persons, capable of self-employment and to develop environment-friendly and people-sensitive technologies in order to enhance the well-being of the people through extension and other interventions. By so doing, the Nigerian people and the entire world are being served.

Philosophy of the Department

The philosophy of geology is concerned with the scope, structure, and content of scientific information regarding the earth and the world at large and its resources with the methods employed in acquiring such information.

Objective of the Department

The department of Geology offers a 4-year Bachelor of Science (B.Sc) programme in Geology and is dedicated to excellence in research in geosciences. The focus of the educational programme in Geology is to enable the student acquire the skills relevant to the ever increasing Earth resources industry and ancillary services.

The objectives are:
  • Producing graduates that are expected to gain expertise in a wide range of geological, environmental and mining activities.

  • Providing the students with broad and balanced foundation of geological knowledge and practical skills and developing in students the ability to apply their geological knowledge and skill to the solution of theoretical and practical problems in geology.

  • Providing the students with the knowledge and skill base from which they can proceed for further studies in specialized areas of geology or multi-disciplinary areas involving geology.

  • Training of geoscientists who will have broad knowledge of the geological sciences to enable them understand the various processes (past and present) operating within the earth interior, its surface, its entire environment and the effects of such processes on the overall human activities including cultural, social, economic and political.

  • Produce competent explorationists of natural resources and environmentalists as well as those that will pursue further degrees in specialized areas of geological sciences such as Applied Geophysics, Engineering Geology, Hydrogeology, Geochemistry, Structural Geology, Petroleum Geology, Geomorphology, Mineralogy, Petrology, Paleontology etc
  • Admission Requirement

    The requirements for admission into the Department are five (5) Ordinary Level Credits in English, Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics, and Biology or Agriculture passed at not more than two (2) sittings.

    The UME subjects are English, Mathematics, Chemistry and Physics.

    Direct Entry Requirments

    i. HSC/GCE A/Level passes in Mathematics, Physics Chemistry ii. Holders of OND and HND with a minimum of Upper Credit in the relevant disciplines in addition to the undergraduate requirements above.

    Minimum Graduation Requirment

    It is expected that for a student to graduate from this programme with a B.Sc. degree in Geology, he/she should have taken and passed the prescribed courses of 164 units.

    Programme Structure

    The B.Sc. degree programme in Geology is expected to be completed within 4 years. But for a weak student it may take him or her a longer period to complete and pass all the prescribed courses.

    Carrier Opportunities

    Geology Graduates have many job opportunities. Geologists can work in oil prospecting companies, the Geological Survey of Nigeria, Federal/State ministries of works and housing, Water co-operation/Boards, National Electric power Authority(NEPA),Road construction companies, Oceanography Departments, Metrology Departments, Mining Companies, Refuge disposal companies, Tourism Industry and Institutions.