Chemistry Department

Welcome Message


Welcome to the Department of Chemistry of Michael Okpara University of Agriculture,
Umudike, Abia State,Nigeria. The Department is one of the University’s founding departments.
From its humble beginnings to its current state, the Department has progressed.

The Department serves all of the University’s science-based faculties and offers degrees leading to B.Sc.,

M.Sc., and PhD degrees. Since its foundation, the Department has graduated thousands of students, and its graduates have given skilled workforce for most Nigerian universities, as well as continuing to contribute to the nation’s development in industries, research, and government institutions.
The Department is proud of its outstanding teaching and the nurturing of eminent scientists.
With 31 academic staff members (including four professors), 16 non-teaching staff and over 300
graduate students, the department focuses on the following research areas:
Analytical and Environmental Chemistry
Inorganic Chemistry


Organic/Natural Product Chemistry
Physical Chemistry 
The departmental has graduate lecture rooms and two research laboratories.  

Dr. Ifeanyi Edozie Otuokere
Head of Department of Chemistry


Dr. I. E. Otuokere